ASILAH, visit of a charming artistic medina  

Located about 35 km south west of Tangier, the visit to the port of Asilah will be a pleasant excursion of 4 to 5 hours. Some good restaurants allow a lunch stop on the spot or on the route.

Asilah is reached by a coastal road that runs along the “diplomatic” forest, itself located along the littoral with its spectacular and long sandy beaches.

Megalithic monuments (Cromlech de Mzora) and Punic vestiges bear witness to the age-old and prosperous populations that lived in this region.

Occupied by Arabs in the 8th century, Asilah was a peaceful fishing port. Its fate changed in 1471, when the Portuguese landed there to conquer Tangier and the north coast as far as Sebta. From then on this strategic access was transformed into a fortified port square as it can still be seen today.

The visit of the old medina of Asilah surrounded by its towers and its Portuguese ramparts constitutes a very pleasant and picturesque walk thanks to the exceptional points of view which it offers and which will delight the photographers, but also thanks to the charm which emerges, from this small town full of light, to the white houses often decorated with very coloured mural frescos, works of local painters.

Asilah, during the tourist period, is rich in quality craft shops and art galleries. In August, the city celebrates “a cultural moussem”, one of the most famous Moroccan festivals attracting many artists.

 

Our Rooms

ASILAH,  visite d’une charmante médina artistique  

Située à environ 35 km au sud ouest de Tanger, la visite du port d’Asilah constituera une agréable  excursion de 4 à 5 heures. Quelques bons restaurants permettent une halte déjeuner sur place ou sur le parcours.

On rejoint Asilah par une route côtière qui longe la forêt « diplomatique », elle-même située le long du littoral avec ses spectaculaires et longues plages de sable en enfilade.

Des monuments mégalithiques (Cromlech de Mzora) et des vestiges puniques témoignent de l’ancienneté et de la prospérité des populations qui vécurent dans cette région.

Occupée par les Arabes au 8è siècle, Asilah était un paisible port de pêche. Son destin changea en 1471, lorsque les Portugais y débarquèrent pour conquérir Tanger et la côte nord jusqu’à Sebta. Dès lors cet accès stratégique se transforma en une place portuaire fortifiée telle qu’on peut la voir encore actuellement.

La visite de la vieille médina d’Asilah entourée de ses tours et ses remparts portugais  constitue une très agréable et pittoresque promenade grâce aux exceptionnels points de vue qu’elle offre et qui raviront les photographes, mais aussi grâce au charme qui se dégage , de cette petite ville pleine de lumière, aux maisons blanches souvent ornée de fresques murales très colorées, œuvres de peintres locaux.

Asilah, pendant la période touristique, est riche de boutiques d’artisanat de qualité et de galeries d’art. Au mois d’août, la ville célèbre « un moussem culturel », un des plus célèbres festivals marocains attirant de nombreux artistes.

 

 

Nos chambres