Discover the blue city “CHEFCHAOUEN”  

From Tangier, it is possible to make the round trip in the day by leaving between 9am and 10am depending on the season.

Heading southeast, the two-hour drive to Chefchauen allows us first to discover the importance of the new suburbs of the city with its wide avenues, its free and industrial zones. At one point, on your left, you will see with astonishment the “plaza de toros” one of the very rare arenas located in Africa; it was built by the Spanish and hosted its last corrida in 1962 after a long tauromachic tradition which dated back to 1880.

After 50 km of crossing the hilly Moroccan countryside, the road passes near TETOUAN, former capital of the region under Spanish protectorate. Then it goes south on the side of the mountain in an increasingly arid valley.

Located at an altitude of 600 m, CHEFCHAOUEN appears like a white spot on the side of the mountain. As soon as you enter, you will feel the true Andalusian Arab authenticity preserved in the streets and houses of its old medina and casbah.

The colour of the walls in bluish tones gives the ensemble a picturesque note which, with the alternation of lights, makes this site a paradise for photographers.

The city, more than 10 centuries old, is hung on the foothills of the Rif mountains to better defend itself, it was once forbidden to foreigners. It still retains a traditional and exotic character in its magnificent mountain setting. The site remains preserved in spite of an increasingly important tourist frequentation.

 

Our Rooms

Découverte de la ville bleue « CHEFCHAOUEN »  

Depuis Tanger, il est possible de faire l’aller et retour dans la journée en partant entre 9h et 10h du matin selon la saison.

Direction le sud-est, les deux heures de route vers Chefchauen nous  permettent d’abord la découverte de l’importance des nouveaux faubourgs de la ville avec ses larges avenues, ses zones franches et industrielles. A un moment, sur votre gauche, vous apercevrez avec étonnement  la « plaza de toros » une des très rares arènes située en Afrique ; elle fût construite par les espagnols et a accueilli sa dernière corrida en 1962 après une longue tradition tauromachique qui remontait vers 1880.

Après 50 km de traversée de la campagne marocaine au paysage très vallonné,  la route  passe à proximité de TETOUAN, ancienne capitale de la région sous protectorat espagnol. Ensuite elle s’engage en direction du sud, sur le flanc de la montagne dans une vallée de plus en plus aride.

Située à 600 m d’altitude, CHEFCHAOUEN surgit telle une tache blanche sur le flanc de la montagne. Dès qu’on y pénètre, vous sentirez la véritable authenticité arabo andalous que conservent les rues et les maisons de sa vieille médina et da sa casbah.

La couleur des murs aux tons bleutés donne à l’ensemble une note pittoresque  qui, avec les alternances de lumières, fait de ce site un paradis pour les photographes.

La ville vieille de plus de 10 siècles, est accrochée aux contreforts des montagnes du Rif pour mieux se défendre, elle était autrefois interdite aux étrangers. Elle conserve toujours un caractère traditionnel et dépaysant dans son écrin de montagnes grandiose. Le site reste préservé malgré une fréquentation touristique de plus en plus importante.

 

Nos chambres